30DMC Day 18: Movie that Disappointed Me

I dont often get really disappointed in movies. I might feel like they didn’t quite hit my expectations sometimes but to be really disappointed in a movie doesn’t happen as often. This is a movie that really let me down.

Yeah it’s the third movie from the very divisive DCEU Suicide Squad. Man of Steel is a movie that didn’t quite hit my expectations and I’ve since watched it several times hoping to like it more which I do every time I watch it. At this point I think it’s ok. Batman v Superman is a movie that I didn’t like when I saw it in the theatre but at that point I wasn’t confident in it so it wasn’t a surprise. The Ultimate Edition is a version I enjoy though. It’s a big dumb mess like a Fast & Furious movie but it’s enjoyable enough. Suicide Squad on the other hand was one that I thought was going to turn it all around for me. From the cast to every single one of the trailers I was so locked in to this movie. I didn’t need there to be a great story, I just needed it to be a kick arse action movie with weird, cool characters. I say I didn’t need a good story but when it’s as aggressively bad as this it just boggles the mind. I enjoyed Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Jai Courtney as Boomerang and I really liked Jay Hernandez as El Diablo. Jared Leto was ok as Joker, some of his lines made me cringe a bit but otherwise he was alright. All other characters were completely pointless, there was no reason to have them in the movie. Especially Slipknot, Adam Beach had to promote this movie. Think about that, he’s in the movie for about two minutes of screen time and he had to travel around selling this movie. Enchantress is possibly the worst villain I’ve ever seen put to film. An 8000 year old witch and her plan is to build a machine? What is the machine? What’s it supposed to do? After Enchantress and her brother took out an initial wave of soldiers they were left alone for two days? None of the superheroes or at least another military attack, just straight to the Suicide Squad? So the Suicide Squad is established to go after super powered threats but the mission is extraction of ‘someone important’ and going after Enchantress is an afterthought at he end? I could go on and on and on and on and on with these questions without answers and it’s just such a drag that it ended up this way. I was so looking forward to this movie, I was convinced there was no way I wasn’t going to like it but they pulled it off. Anyway I’m done with talking about this right now it’s bumming me out.

What movies about recently disappointments to you? Let me know in the comments. Check in tomorrow where I’ll be talking about my favourite actor. Thanks for reading and until next time, take it easy. 

Leave a Reply

