30DMC Day 17: Best Movie I Saw During the Last Year

Over the past year I not only had a baby daughter but my wife was also pregnant with our second child so the number of movies I’ve been able to see is less than I’d lie it to be. Priorities and all that. That being said there was a couple of movies a a tally got a chance to go check out a couple of times at the theatre (One of which I’ll be talking g about tomorrow). The other one is the movie I got the most enjoyment out of, but there were some extra reasons why. 

The second Star Wars movies to make it onto my 30 day challenge. As soon as I learned what this movie was about I was torn between scepticism and intrigue but as soon as trailers started dropping I was all in completely psyched for the movie. I was so jazzed for the movie that it inspired me to buy my first Star Wars novel. I’m talking of course about Catalyst which is a prequel novel leading up to the events of Rogue One mainly following Gaelen Erso and Orson Krennic. I absolutely loved the novel and it allowed me to walk into Rogue One with a preexisting investment in the characters and a knowledge of what they’ve been through to get where they are. So I went to see the movie and was blown away by it. The scope of it with the intense battles that definitely felt like a war movie and the connections to the greater universe. Something else worth mentioning, this was the first time I ever went to a movie solo. It’s not something I’ve ever been against but it’s just never happened. Every time I went to a movie someone always ended up coming with. So this time I went all alone and it was so fucking great.  I had room to stretch, I didn’t have to share any arm rests and it was just amazing.

What’s the best movie you’ve seen in the last year? Let me know in the comments. Check in tomorrow for the movie that disappointed me the most. Than,so for reading and until next time, take it easy. 

Leave a Reply

