30DMC Day 10: My Favourite Director

Why do I keep doing this to myself? There are so many directors that as soon as you hear they’re directing a movie, you know your going to see it. I will say, i have friends who once theyve decided they love a director, they refuse to admit if a movie theyve done isnt good. Theyre excuse to me is always “hey, im a fan”. I’m not like that, I can love some movies of a director and downright hate others. That being said so many directors have put out some of the most iconic and important movies of all time. So in that, shout outs to Spielberg, Fincher, Coen brothers, the Coppolas the list goes on and on but my personal favourite is…

Christopher Nolan. When I was a kid I was watching a movie on TV with my family called Memento. I thought it was the coolest, most confusing movie I’d ever watched. That was also my first time seeing get a cast member of Australian soap Neighbours in a movie. At that point though I didn’t know or care about directors, I was just a stupid punk kid. The point I really started to take notice was of course, Batman Begins. If you’ve read any of my other posts you’ll know I’m a fucking nerd who lived comic book movies and this movie was nothing short of an incredible feat. He took a dead in the water franchise and made it cool again. He took a genre that most people didn’t take seriously and made it serious. Then he followed it up with two incredible sequels, one of which is in the conversation of the greatest movies of all time. Other of his works lime The Prestige and Inception were also both masterfully shot movies that kept you on your toes, they’re both movies you really have to concentrate on. Interstellar is a divisive movie I know and I’ll admit there are parts of that movie that I’m not totally on board with but the scale and scope of that movie are undeniably mesmerising. Even if the story didn’t completely sell me, most of it did there were just parts that took me back, visually impaired was blown away. Whenever Nolan has a movie coming out I definitely know I’m going to see it and hope I love it and I really can’t wait to see how Dunkirk turns out.

Who’s your favourite director? How do you rate Nolan? Let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading and check back tomorrow for day 11, my favourite movie from my childhood. Until next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

