30DMC Day 4: Favourite Horror Movie

Horror is not my favourite genre. I’m not big on horror movies. I’m by no means dismissive of them, I highly respected the craft it’s just not really where my interests lie. So this is a hard category for me because there just aren’t many horror movies I go out of my way to see. That being said there are also the classics that of course I’ve seen and I could choose from. With that being said my pick for favourite horror movie is…

I’ve loved this movie forever. The incredible thing about Jaws is I’ve loved it for completely different reasons through different points in my life. When I was a kid I loved whenever I would hear that iconic music I was about to see the huge shark attack somebody or do something scary, I was all in for shark based reasons and everything else was just a fine filler until that shark (Bruce) was back on screen. Then I grew up and was able to comprehend story and character and I got to have a completely fresh experience while watching a movie I had seen a number of times. The same thing happened to me with Jurassic Park. I went from my favourite part being the very end when the shark is attacking Brody  (Roy Scheider) Hooper (Richard Dreyfuss) and Quint (Robert Shaw) in the boat at the climax of the movie. Now as an adult my favourite scene is of course when the three men are in the boat having a few drinks comparing scars then the tone shifts into Quint talking about his experience on the USS Indianapolis in a chilling telling of an actual true story. The way that scene is shot and put together is a prime example of why Spielberg is who he is.

What’s your favourite horror movie? Where does my pick rank for you? Let me know in the comments. This post was a day late because I didn’t have time yesterday so stay tuned for day 5 in a couple of hours. Thanks for reading and until next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

