30DMC Day 1: My Favourite Movie

I’ve decided to do a 30 day Movie Challenge and I figured instead of just posting my answers to twitter or Facebook I would do it here and give a more in depth reasons to most of my answers. I say most because some of the topics are things I don’t really care much about or don’t really have much to say on the topic but I’ll try with them anyway.

With that out of the way I’ll get into it. Day one is straight into favorite movie. This is a little tough for me because I’m not really someone to have absolute favourites in anything. I tend to play things more by mood. For example if you asked me my favorite David Bowie song one day I might say Moonage Daydream but ask me again the next day and I might say Space Oddity. However I thought about a few I could name and there are others I could name further down the list and the one I chose probably gives me the strongest feeling inside so here it is. 

Thats right, The Empire Strikes Back. Some of my fondest memories when I was a kid is my father taking me to see all three movies of the original trilogy at the cinema. Now this was some time around the mid 90’s I can’t remember exactly what year, it was a couple of years before The Phantom Menace. I was probably around 7 years old at this time and had no idea what it meant that it said they were the ‘Special Editions’. I had no idea that they were even old movies. It never even occurred to me that sequels don’t come out that quickly. So my father took me to these movies and I was just blown away by them. The one that stood out most of all was The Empire Strikes Back and through many viewings over the years it’s easy to see why. The story, the action, the set pieces are all mind blowingly fantastic. This is a movie I could watch any number of times and never ever get sick of it so that’s why I’m putting it as my favourite movie.

What’s your favourite movie? How does mine match up to yours? Thanks for reading and check back every day for more of my 30 day challenge. Take it easy.

Leave a Reply

