The Matrix gearing up for a reboot

The Matrix is one of the most iconic movies of all time. That’s just a fact that can’t be denied. It’s so influential that for years afterwards, movie after movie kept spoofing, parodying and paying homage to the ground breaking action and effects. Then the sequels happened. Reloaded isn’t that bad in my humble and unprofessional opinion but Revolutions is just a big fucking slog of nothing, it’s really not good.

Now I’ve said it before (probably, I can’t really remember) that I have no issue with things being remade or rebooted because if they’re good, you have a great new thing to watch but if they’re bad you still have the original to enjoy. It’s a different discussion though of what movies are in need of a remake or reboot. For example, as awesome as Escape from New York is I am really looking forward to seeing the long awaited remake and hope it’s done right. Also, the new Scarface which is in development sounds like it could be incredible and will of course be the second remake of that property. There are the stinkers obviously such as Point Break which is just not good.

The question now is, will this new Matrix movie be a completely new remake, or is it going to be a new story set in the same continuity of the original three movies. Word is, and it’s certainly the better option, is that it will be the latter. If this is true it’s unclear whether this new film would take place before or after the events of the other movies but I would be fine either way. I admit I have thought about what a fourth movie in the franchise could be. I won’t get into that here but if anybody ever wants to know it I’ll put it out there in some way. 

Reports are saying that Michael B. Jordan is the top pick to lead the project and that would be a huge buy for me. The more I think about it, there really is nobody I would prefer to lead this movie. There are certainly other people I would be fine with such as Donald Glover, Miles Teller, Brie Larson, Thessa Thompson and the list could go on. 

Truly I think this could be something really cool if it’s a continuation of the same universe. You wouldn’t necessarily need to include any of the original cast members but it could be cool, and it would be good to nitpick for any references and easter eggs referencing the originals. Now I don’t want this to look like I’m just over the moon excited about this, it could be a complete load of old arse but there are ways to make this work and I hope its the direction it is heading. Unless they do just do a complete remake in which case fuck that shit.

What do you think? Are you up for a new trip into the Matrix? Would you be cool with a complete remake or would you prefer a continuation? Let me know. Thanks for reading and till next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

