Margot Robbie as…. Robin Hood?

Weird, confusing headline right? That’s what I thought when I first read about this. It turns out there’s yet another Robin Hood movie in the works to go with the other 12 (probably) in some stage of development, with the twist being that it would be Margot Robbie in the leading role. Now this idea isn’t exactly new, there have been a number of remakes, reboots, soft reboots, sort of sequels to properties where the leading roles have been changed from men to women. Some examples of these being the recent Ghostbusters and the upcoming Ocean’s Eight. 

Really I have no issues with these gender reversals because ultimately they make sense. Women have, to put it lightly, been underrepresented in film and especially in leading roles. It’s easy to call for Hollywood to just start making original movies and bringing new kick arse female  characters to the forefront but that’s just not the way things work. The reality is people cry out for original idea movies all the time but when they come, not many people go see them. Without getting name of a well known property attached to a project it’s getting harder for Studios to get busts in seats, so they go for the gender reversal remake. As I said this doesn’t bother me because if it’s bad, I still have the original that I love, and if it’s good, I get a great new movie to enjoy. That being said I really would just prefer original ideas.

Back to Robin Hood, this seemed to me at first glance like just another one of those situations until I saw its working title is Marian. It turns out Margot would be playing Maid Marian who takes up the mantle of Robin Hood after her beloved dies in her arms. This is actually a much more interesting premise to me. This is taking a known property and telling a completely fresh story with it. It also doesn’t at all hurt to have a fantastic talent such as Margot Robbie in the role. So something that seemed an odd choice to me at first quickly became something I’m interested to see how it turns out.

As always thanks for reading. What do you think? Are you interested in this take on the Maid Marian character? Let me know in the comments. Till next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

