Patrick Stewart done as Professor X

During an interview with Entertainment Weekly, Patrick Steward who has portrayed Professor X since the very first X-men back in 2000 told dropped a big piece of news. Here’s what he had to say.

“A week ago, Friday night in Berlin, the three of us sat, watching the movie. And I was so moved by it, much more moved than I had been the first time of seeing it. Maybe it was the company of these two guys, but the movie ended and — this is an admission — but at one point [Hugh] reached out, and he took my hand in those last few minutes, and I saw him go [mimes wiping a tear from his eye] like this, and then I realized I had just done the same thing. Then, the movie ended… and we were going to be taken up on stage, but not until the credits were over. So, we had some time to sit there and, as I sat there I realized there will never be a better, a more perfect, a more sensitive, emotional, and beautiful way of saying au revoir to Charles Xavier than this movie. So, I told [Hugh] that same evening, ‘I’m done too. It’s all over.’”

That quote tells of a beautiful moment between two friends who have portrayed these characters side by side for 17 years. This tells the realisation of an actor who knows there’s no further he can take a character and feels complete in it. Of course this isn’t a ground breaking revelation as many people speculated this could possibly be the last time we would see the iconic actor portray the Professor on screen but to learn hat he hadn’t decided until he saw he movie this time just makes me hat much more pumped to see the movie this coming Thursday. 


As always thanks for reading. What do you think? What’s been your favorite Patrick Stewart performance of Professor X? Let me know in the comments we’ll chat about it. Till next time, take it easy.

Leave a Reply

