Thougnts: Mel Gibson directing…. whaaa????

So news broke today that Warner Bros. we’re eyeing off Mel Gibson to take the directors chair for none other than the sequel for Suicide Squad. Now reports say that they’re “in talks” or “have spoken to” which at this stage I’m taking with an absolute grain of salt. Mostly because this is not something I thought would ever happen.

First things first though, Mel Gibson is a top tier director. All his movies are full of depth, incredible performances, smart storytelling and are beautifully shot. However there’s no mistaking that he has had some very public, very serious problems and as Andre result there’s a lingering dilemma of separating artist from art with his movies. There are people out there who refuse to support him and will not see any movies of his because of his various public outbursts. You can’t really blame them for that either, it’s what they feel and they absolutely have the right to feel it. On the other hand, Robert Downey Jnr. was not a name any studio wanted anything to do with because of his own publicly scrutinised demons and Jon Favreau had to fight for him to be Iron Man and it completely reinvigorated his career and shot him straight to the top. Perhaps this could happen for Gibson too? 

But this leads to another problem, Mel Gibson doesn’t seem to care too much for comic book movies. He even went so far as to call Batman v. Superman a “piece of shit”. (I’ll just gloss over the fact I’ve called the theatrical version the same. Ultimate edition I like) So the question that rattles around my simple mind is, ‘Why the shit would he bother to do this?’ And the possible answer lies in other quotes by Gibson.

“I look at them and scratch my head. I’m really baffled by it. I think there’s a lot of waste but maybe if I did one of those things with the green screens I’d find out different. I don’t know. Maybe they do cost that much. I don’t know. It seems to me that you could do it for less.”

Now this isn’t saying he wants to do one to find out for himself, but it’s also not saying he would never do one. If this all turns out to be true and he signs on i will be very fascinated to see how it turns out. Again though all of this could just be a load of old arse and be completely refuted. If the is all bullshit I wouldn’t be pissed if they announce Davis Ayer is coming back to direct. I think he is a really good film maker, I would just want him to have more time to really lock down a solid script because that’s been my biggest issue with the DCEU. It’s not the dark tone or lack of fun the hats bugged me, it’s just been the disjointed, cluster- fuck stories.

Well the harshest are my thoughts on the matter anyway. Thanks for reading and take it easy.

Update: Mel Gibson confirms he’s in very early talks. Could turn into nothing but still really interesting.

Leave a Reply

