Thoughts: Iron Fist trailer

Iron Fist is the fourth series to come out of the Marvel Netflix world and is the last piece, after Daredevil, Jessica Jones and Luke Cage, in the build up to the highly anticipated The Defenders series. I have been hanging for a full length trailer for the series since I knocked out Luke Cage within a few days last year. There have been a few quick teasers and a fair amount of stills and images have appeared online but I was waiting and waiting for this trailer. 

Verdict: I enjoyed it. I think the show looks really good. It didn’t hype me up beyond excitement like trailers for both seasons of Daredevil, Jessica Jones or Luke Cage did but I am still really jazzed for this series. It looked to me as if this go around they were playing with a bigger budget than the previous series have had and the visuals and effects look fantastic. I love the look of his glowing ‘iron fist’ hand and the damage it can cause. 

The casting of Finnish Jones as Danny Rand was one I was fine with. I only knew him from Game of Thrones which he is quite good in. There was some slight trouble over the internet about casting a white guy when they would have preferred an Asian actor for the role. ‘Whitewashing’ is definitely still a present issue in television and movies in this day and age but I don’t think it would be fair to call this show out for that since the character of Danny Rand has always been white. It was also good to see Rosario Dawson as Claire Temple and Waiting Ching Honda as Gao featured throughout the trailer since they are two of the big connective threads that connect all these series together.

My concern for the show is that a couple of these series, mostly Jessica Jones and Luke Cage for me, have felt like they went for a couple of episodes more than they needed to. Overall great seasons of television but there was maybe a bit of fat that could have been trimmed and I hope that isn’t the case with this show.

All in all I’m really looking forward to this show and don’t forget, we still have The Defenders coming and oh yeah… The Punisher which I am so jazzed for.

Thanks for reading and keep it breezy 

Leave a Reply

