My First Cinema Memory

I’ve always had two possible memories of my first cinema experience. It may not be the first time I ever went but the two candidates are my first memories. The year was 1993 and I was 4 years old going on 5. The two potential candidates for my first  (of memory) cinema experience are Dennis the Menace and Jurassic Park. I always knew these were the first two but I could never remember which came first and I never bothered looking it up. Until last night. So to spare you all the suspense I’ll just say the winner is…..

Dennis the Menace

Yeah this was the first movie I remember going to as a kid. We went a couple of times if I remember correctly. I don’t really have a lot else to say about this movie since I haven’t seen it in years but as a kid I loved it. I’m not sure what I saw first, this or Back to the Future but I know it was some time before I realised Doc Brown and the creepy kidnapper guy were the same person, the delightful Christopher Lloyd.

My memory of walking out of Jurassic Park the first time was being kind of bummed out. Not because I didn’t like it, I’ve always absolutely loved it, and not because I was scared. It was so etching else. At a certain point during the movie my little 4 year old bladder couldn’t handle it and I needed to pee so my poor dad had to take me to the toilets. When we got back my sisters excitedly told up a man had just been eaten off the toilet. Yeah we missed that glorious moment. So the next time we went I made absolute sure I did not miss that moment and I was not let down.

So yeah this has just been on my mind lately, looking back on those moments. Thinking about it the answer should have always been known to me since my mother came to both movies but after Jurassic Park she never went to the movies again until last year I think it was. But anyway I’m finished rambling now.

Bye then.

Leave a Reply

